Hellman Fellows

The Hellman Fellowship Program was established at UC San Diego in 1995 through the generosity of Chris Hellman and the late Warren Hellman. 2018-19 marks the 24th year of this valuable program that is designed to provide financial support and encouragement to young faculty in the core disciplines who show capacity for great distinction in their research and creative activities. Funds awarded are intended as one-time support for activities that will enhance the individual's progress towards tenure; therefore, prior to receiving a Fellowship, faculty recipients will have served at least two years at the assistant professor rank as evidence of their promise of distinction. The maximum award amount is $50,000.

A call for nominations for the 2018-2019 was sent to eligible faculty in January 2018. The application process for the Hellman Fellows Program is administered by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor. For additional information, contact Janka Bond (858) 534-3131 or j2bond@ucsd.edu.

2018-2019 Application Criteria, Instructions, and Online Application

Congratulations to the 2017-2018 Hellman Fellows

Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering and SIO

  • David Fenning (NanoEngineering)
  • Alisa Huffaker (Cell & Developmental Biology)
  • Quinn Konopacky (Physics)
  • Justin Meyer (Ecology, Behavior & Evolution)
  • Michael Yip (Electrical & Computer Engineering)

Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, GPS and Rady School of Management

  • Julie Burelle (Theatre)
  • Natacha Diels (Music)
  • Simeon Man (History)
  • Daniel Navon (Sociology)
  • Amy Non (Anthropology)
  • Danielle Raudenbush (Sociology)