About the Faculty

UC San Diego faculty are leading scholars at the forefront of their fields, and are critical partners in fulfilling our mission as a Student-Centered, Research-Focused, Service-Oriented Public University. Current faculty honors include two Nobel laureates (16 Nobel laureates have taught at UC San Diego in five decades), two Fields Medalists, five recipients of the National Medal of Science, five MacArthur Fellows, two Pulitzer Prize winners, and 161 members of the National Academies of Engineering (27), Medicine (50) and Sciences (84). A partial listing of faculty awards and honors is available on the Faculty Awards & Honors page. UC San Diego’s distinguished faculty also hold approximately 195 Endowed Chairs.

Under the UC system of Shared Governance, UC San Diego faculty play an integral role in University affairs. Responsibilities are divided such that the Regents set broad policy, the Administration has primary oversight for organization and finances, and the Academic Senate plays a key role in educational issues, in addition to serving in an advisory capacity to both the Regents and the Administration. The Academic Senate sets admissions and graduation requirements, approves courses and curriculum, and advises on the budget and other matters pertaining to the conduct and welfare of the University.

UC San Diego faculty hold appointments in 51 academic departments and schools of the General Campus, the School of Medicine and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. In addition to having a departmental affiliation, General Campus faculty are also appointed to, and have teaching and service responsibilities in one of the six undergraduate colleges.

Find a Faculty Member

Any UC San Diego employee may be located via the campus online directory search.