Hellman Fellows

The Hellman Fellowship Program was established at UC San Diego in 1995 through the generosity of Chris and Warren Hellman. 2020-2021 marks the 26th year of this valuable program that is designed to provide financial support and encouragement to young faculty in the core disciplines who show capacity for great distinction in their research and creative activities. Funds awarded are intended as one-time support for activities that will enhance the individual's progress towards tenure; therefore, prior to receiving a Fellowship, faculty recipients will have served at least two years at the assistant professor rank as evidence of their promise of distinction. The maximum award amount is $50,000.

A call for applications for the 2020-2021 Hellman Fellows Program was sent to eligible assistant professors on January 31, 2020. All candidate application materials must be received electronically by Friday, April 24, 2020.  Chairs will have until Friday, May 1, 2020, to complete the Chair Evaluation Form. (Note: In light of the unprecedented circumstances related to COVID-19, the application deadline was extended from April 3 to April 24, and the chair evaluation deadline was extended from April 10 to May 1).

The application process for the Hellman Fellows Program is administered by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor. For additional information, contact Janka Bond (858) 534-3131 or j2bond@ucsd.edu.

2020-2021 Application Criteria, Instructions, and Online Application

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Hellman Fellows

Biological Sciences, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Marine Sciences

  • Galia Debelouchina (Chemistry  Biochemistry)
  • Stacey Glasgow (Neurobiology)
  • Tongyan Lin (Physics)
  • Ingrid Tomac (Structural Engineering)
  • Wenxin Zhou (Mathematics)

Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, GPS and Rady School of Management
  • Katherine Meckel (Economics)
  • Francisco Garfias Royo (School of Global Policy & Strategy)
  • Uma Karmarkar (Rady School of Management)
  • Shawna Kidman (Communication)
  • Gareth Nellis (Political Science)
  • Agustina Paglayan (Political Science)
  • Wilfrido Terrazas Perez (Music)
  • Monique Wonderly (Philosophy)