Skip to main content

Department Chair Directory 

Find contact information for general campus department chairs below, along with links to division and department websites for additional information. To request an update to this list, please contact evc105student@ucsd.edu 

School of Arts & Humanities 

History 
Department Chair: Luis Alvarez (l2alvarez@ucsd.edu 
Literature 
Department Chair: M. Kazim Ali (mkali@ucsd.edu 
Music 
Department Chair: Anthony Burr (aburr@ucsd.edu 
Philosophy 
Department Chair: Dana Nelkin (dnelkin@ucsd.edu 
Theatre & Dance 
Department Chair: Bobby McElver (rmcelver@ucsd.edu 
Visual Arts 
Department Chair: Ricardo Dominguez (rrdominguez@ucsd.edu 

 

School of Biological Sciences 

Cell and Developmental Biology  
Department Chair: Deborah Yelon (dyelon@ucsd.edu 
Ecology, Behavior and Evolution  
Department Chair: Elsa Cleland (ecleland@ucsd.edu 
Molecular Biology 
Department Chair: Dong-Er Zhang (d7zhang@ucsd.edu 
Neurobiology  
Department Chair:  Jing Wang (jw800@ucsd.edu 

 

Jacobs School of Engineering 

Bioengineering 
Department Chair: Adam Engler (aengler@eng.ucsd.edu 
Computer Science and Engineering 
Department Chair: Sorin Lerner (lerner@ucsd.edu 
Electrical and Computer Engineering 
Department Chair: Bill Lin (billlin@ucsd.edu)   
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 
Department Chair: Stefan Llewellyn Smith (sllewellynsmith@ucsd.edu)
NanoEngineering 
Department Chair: Liangfang Zhang (zhang@ucsd.edu 
Structural Engineering 
Department Chair: Michael Todd (mdtodd@ucsd.edu 

 

School of Physical Sciences 

Astronomy and Astrophysics
Department Chair: Alison Coil (acoil@ucsd.edu)
Chemistry & Biochemistry 
Department Chair: Michael Burkart (mburkart@ucsd.edu 
Mathematics 
Department Chair: Michael Holst (chair@math.ucsd.edu; mholst@ucsd.edu 
Physics 
Department Chair: Oleg Shpyrko (chair@physics.ucsd.edu 

 

School of Social Sciences 

Anthropology 
Department Chair: Paul Goldstein (psgoldstein@ucsd.edu) 
Cognitive Science 
Department Chair:  Douglas Nitz (dnitz@ucsd.edu 
Communication 
Department Chair: Patrick Anderson (pwa@ucsd.edu 
Economics 
Department Chair: Marc-Andreas Muendler (econchair@ucsd.edu 
Education Studies 
Department Chair: Christopher Halter (chalter@ucsd.edu 
Ethnic Studies 
Department Chair: Andrew Jolivétte (ajolivette@ucsd.edu 
Linguistics 
Department Chair: Robert Kluender (rkluender@ucsd.edu 
Political Science 
Department Chair: Lawrence Broz (jlbroz@ucsd.edu 
Psychology 
Department Chair: John Serences (jserences@ucsd.edu 
Sociology 
Department Chair: Kwai Ng (socio-chair@ucsd.edu 
Urban Studies & Planning  
Department Chair: Isaac Martin (iwmartin@ucsd.edu