Skip to main content

Department Chair Directory 

Find contact information for general campus department chairs below, along with links to division and department websites for additional information. To request an update to this list, please contact jessicaj@ucsd.edu 

Division of Arts & Humanities 

History 
Department Chair: Edward Watts (ewatts@ucsd.edu 
Literature 
Department Chair: Yingjin Zhang (litchair@ucsd.edu 
Music 
Department Chair: Anthony Burr (aburr@ucsd.edu 
Philosophy 
Department Chair: Jonathan Cohen (cohen@ucsd.edu 
Theatre & Dance 
Department Chair (Interim): Robert Brill (rbrill@ucsd.edu 
Visual Arts 
Department Chair: Amy Adler (aadler@ucsd.edu 

 

Division of Biological Sciences 

Cell and Developmental Biology  
Section Chair: Mark Estelle (mestelle@ucsd.edu 
Ecology, Behavior and Evolution  
Section Chair: Jonathan Shurin (jshurin@ucsd.edu 
Molecular Biology 
Section Chair: Cornelius Murre (cmurre@ucsd.edu 
Neurobiology  
Section Chair:  Stefan Leutgeb (sleutgeb@ucsd.edu 

 

Jacobs School of Engineering 

Bioengineering 
Department Chair: Kun Zhang (kzhang@bioeng.ucsd.edu 
Computer Science and Engineering 
Department Chair: Sorin Lerner (lerner@ucsd.edu 
Electrical and Computer Engineering 
Department Chair: Bill Lin (billlin@ucsd.edu)   
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 
Department Chair: George Tynan (mae-chair@ucsd.edu 
NanoEngineering 
Department Chair: Shaochen Chen (shc064@ucsd.edu 
Structural Engineering 
Department Chair: John S. McCartney (j1mccartney@ucsd.edu 

 

Division of Physical Sciences 

Chemistry & Biochemistry 
Department Chair: Vicki Grassian (vhgrassian@ucsd.edu 
Mathematics 
Department Chair: James McKernan (jmckernan@ucsd.edu 
Physics 
Department Chair: Brian Maple (chair@physics.ucsd.edu 

 

Division of Social Sciences 

Anthropology 
Department Chair: Steven Parish (sparish@ucsd.edu) 
Cognitive Science 
Department Chair:  Douglas Nitz (dnitz@ucsd.edu 
Communication 
Department Chair: Brian Goldfarb (bgoldfarb@ucsd.edu 
Economics 
Department Chair: Graham Elliot  (econchair@ucsd.edu 
Education Studies 
Department Chair: Carolyn Hofstetter (chofstetter@ucsd.edu 
Ethnic Studies 
Department Chair: Andrew Jolivétte (ajolivette@ucsd.edu 
Linguistics 
Department Chair: Eric Baković (ling-chair@ucsd.edu 
Political Science 
Department Chair: Thad Kousser (tkousser@ucsd.edu 
Psychology 
Department Chair: Michael Gorman (mgorman@ucsd.edu 
Sociology 
Department Chair: Amy Binder (socio-chair@ucsd.edu 
Urban Studies & Planning  
Department Chair: Isaac Martin (iwmartin@ucsd.edu